top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliana Climaco

Know more about the Mr. and Ms. JPIA 2022


Mr. and Ms. JPIA 2022 ended their ‘Moulin Rouge’ themed pageant successfully. Just like the flashing lights and sophisticated concept of a theater, it indeed surpassed the expectations for an online pageant.


The refreshing spirits of the event hosts added to the bright combination of red and violet atmosphere of the contest. With their top notched judges, the event surely challenged the contestants regarding their timely advocacies. MMJ 2022 absolutely lived up to the extravagance the spectacle wanted to establish.


From their charisma and wit, Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo and Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta wowed the community when they flaunted their grace through formal wear, evening gowns, theme wear, and of course, through promoting their chosen advocacies. To let us further appreciate their journey to their titles, we conducted an interview to the crowned stars.

How was your experience joining the competition?


“The whole experience was great. I loved every second of it. I got to meet new people that I bonded with, I was able to showcase my abilities and become a spokesperson for the youth.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“It’s a rollercoaster of experience. I had a lot of fun moments from the preparation to the photo and video shoot, up to the live show. I experienced the mixed feeling of being excited, anxious, doubtful, hopeful, and thrilled even in that short period of time. There was never a dull moment throughout the whole competition which made it a remarkable experience that I will always treasure.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


What prompted you to join?


“Honestly, I was very hesitant at first. I know this will give more responsibilities for me and knowing that I'm already a 3rd year student, I anticipated that this will be challenging. But my passion to be an advocate let me overcome this fear to accept the challenge.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“It’s an experience that will not only allow me to express myself but will also open a lot of opportunities for my advocacy. With this in mind, I grabbed the chance and did my best to earn a larger platform.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


What are your inspiration and motivation for this contest?


“I was inspired by the opportunities that this pageant will give to me. Through this, I will be able to gain a newfound self-confidence. Aside from that, I really wanted to be involved in the community activities to contribute something. Finally, I got motivated by the level of support and love that I got from my loved ones.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“I feel inspired by the people who continue to believe in me. I feel most grateful to all of them. Their love and support gave me the strength and confidence that I needed to compete in the contest. As for my motivation, it is the dream of reaching out to more people and be heard about the things that I am passionate about which includes being an advocate of Gender and Development.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


What are your hurdles during your preparation?


“One of the hurdles that I had to face during this contest is finding the right location for the shoots and the runway. It was very difficult to find one in our province. Also, I had to manage my time as a student and not let the pageant affect my studies but also giving my best every single time. Luckily, I had the support of my loved ones and they helped me through this journey.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“As soon as I confirmed to join the competition, along with my excitement, I also felt anxious about all the things that had to be done. The hardest part for me was the training. I didn’t have the luxury of time, so I had to squeeze my training with the days that I have until the deadlines. Walking in high heels for hours reminded me that being a beauty queen is not all glitz and glam and that it takes a lot of effort and discipline to be pageant ready.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


Which candidate did you treat as your biggest threat?


“I saw everyone as a threat because I saw how dedicated they all are during the pageant. Despite all the challenges they each of one had to face, I witnessed how they overcome those with a smile, and I couldn't be prouder of each one of them.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“I didn’t have the chance to meet my co-candidates in person which is why I don’t have someone I saw as a threat. I treated all of them as my equal and anticipated that all of us would exert our best efforts in the pageant. On the brighter side, this allowed me to just do my thing and not feel pressured by others.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


Aside from joining the contest, what are your further plans to promote your advocacy?


“I am planning to make my advocacy, which is Journey to Zero, become more in touch to everyone by conducting webinars that aims to ultimately eradicate the stigma about HIV.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“After winning the contest I realized that advocating for Gender and Development doesn’t stop just by getting the crown. Instead, it’s just the start. To be given a platform is an opportunity for me to extend my advocacy to the CAF community. So as a first step, I am looking forward to execute the advocacy proposal “Feel it, Femme it!” that I submitted during the contest which celebrates and embraces femininity. Even if it’s not Women’s Month, I hope we continue to celebrate women.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


In one sentence, given your title, how can you serve the CAF community?


“As a new member of the JPIA, I want to serve the CAF community by engaging to the projects of the organization and helping our community by becoming their voice.” – Mr. JPIA 2022 Mhico Mateo


“As Ms. PUP JPIA 2022, I will be a spokesperson that pushes for student inclusivity that will always put the welfare of my fellow CAF students first by engaging, addressing, and ensuring that their needs and concerns are all heard.” – Ms. JPIA 2022 Jhascefel Zulueta


It is evident that the titleholders know how much this opportunity means not only personally to themselves, but especially to the community they aspire to reach. They chose to shine not only for the benefit of clout, but to extend their cause much deeper and wider. MMJ 2022 is a great reminder that aside from beauty, appeal, and brilliance, everyone should aim not only on physical things. That it is much beautiful to use those for a greater purpose.


They say that confidence breeds beauty. But let’s not forget that it is more elegant to help build a community that stands for progress.

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FLAG THE PRIDE

Love – a simple feeling yet so complex in meaning. It branches out to almost all emotions and is regarded to be the universal language...

Comments


bottom of page